A Simple trick to end insomnia

Waking up4:00AM and wide awake. Husband snoring. Bird chirping madly outside my bedroom window. My mind races, obsessing over my to do list. Getting more restless by the minute.

Tossing and turning but failing to find a comfortable position. The clock starting at me as precious minutes fly by, lost forever.

Pushing the covers off. Pulling them back up. Get up, drink some water, and then back to bed to start all over again. Nope. Sleep is not happening.

This probably sounds familiar to quite a few of you. But what if you could magically get back to sleep.

 My trick:

  1. Direct your attention to your natural breath
  2. Hold right thumb in left hand wrapping fingers and thumb around it. Stay for a few minutes
  3. Hold right pinky finger in lightly in left hand for a few minutes
  4. Keep switching back and forth No exact timing is necessary, switch when it feels right

Next thing I know I wake up to my alarm buzzing. I’m still holding my right pinky finger.

This simple exercise is from a Japanese healing modality called Jin Shin Jyutsu. By simply placing your hands on specific parts of the body, you can change your body energy fairly quickly.

Next time you find yourself wrestling with unwanted wakefulness, try this simple technique. Note: for some people it may take a few tries before it works. So don’t give up if it doesn’t help the first time.

Stay tuned for more tips for better sleep. If lack of sleep has been affecting your performance lately, contact me for a free consult. I can help return you to restful sleeping.

This entry was posted in Health, Performing, Tips Of The Trade and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

